Another first

(Originally posted Septamber 2007)

I had my first fender-bender about a week and a half ago. Yes, I’m 39 and this is my first accident — I think that’s a pretty good record.

It was my fault. I rear-ended a very nice lady’s brand new Yukon Denali XL. The damage was minimal because I didn’t hit very hard and I pulled to the left so as to hit a side panel on my car. All I could think was “I don’t want to hit the radiator. I have to be able to drive away from this.”

No, I wasn’t doing any of the following:

  • Talking on the phone
  • Putting on makeup
  • Rocking out
  • Falling asleep
  • Reading the paper
  • Messing with the stereo

Max was trying to tell me something and I looked back to see what he was signing. I think that was a new one for the insurance company.

Luckily I was almost stopped when I hit her and no one was hurt. As a matter of fact, Max, true to form, cracked up when it happened.

Img_1955

My favorite part is how that little piece in the front is turned back.

This entry was posted in Firsts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

