“Downtown” in Costco

Today I was waiting in the return line in Costco. Next to me were player pianos softly playing recognizable songs. I was singing in my head. I’m sure others were singing in their heads. Probably just the chorus.

Then “Downtown” came on. You know you know it! Petula Clark…

Well suddenly people were singing out loud.

One lady behind the counter sang: “When you’re alone and life is making you lonely. You can always go – downtown”

The lady helping me smiled and bobbed her head and joined in for: “Just listen to the music of the traffic in the city. Linger on the sidewalk where the neon signs are pretty. How can you lose?”

They knew all the words!

Then I heard people walkng out: “Doooowntoooown – no finer place, for sure
Doooowntoooown – everything’s waiting for you”

I walked out with a grin on my face 🙂

This entry was posted in Encounters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

